Club Feature: Sigma Zeta

Sigma Zeta is the science, mathematics and computer science honors society. To be inducted, a student must have at least 25 hours of coursework completed in the sciences and a 3.0 G.P.A. in their science courses.

Nicholas Brumbaugh, senior computer science major, is chapter president. Josh Campbell, Gara Fawver, Mel Sabo and Kristie McFadden, all senior mathematics majors, are officers. David Hahn, professor of mathematics, is the Sigma Zeta advisor.

Each year Sigma Zeta goes to the national convention, which is centered on student presentations. They increase awareness of science in the community and judge high school science fairs. Sigma Zeta has also done service projects and sponsored speakers to visit campus. They sponsor the fall semester finals week care packages to fundraise for their activities.

Sigma Zeta won the 2016 Founder’s Cup Award, which awarded to the most active chapter of the honorary.

If you have any questions, email Hahn at dhahn@malone.edu.


Josey Petz is the Editor and Chief of The Aviso

Categories: Features

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s